Go to the main content section Anchor

Religious festivals

Anchor
Religious festivals

Local cultural energy

Taiwan is a place of religious diversity, where traditional beliefs and religions introduced from overseas exist side by side. Taiwan's main traditional religions are Buddhism, Daoism and folk belief. There are some purely Buddhist temples but most temples have a Daoist flavor.

Lantern Festival Bombing Lord Handan(with Firecrackers)

Lantern Festival Bombing Lord Handan(with Firecrackers)

In coordination with traditional folk culture events, creative art and cultural activities highlight the common people's spirit and cultural value of Tatung's Lantern Festival activities.Taitung's annual Lantern Festival Blessing Procession is a historic local cultural event in which private groups and temples take part. The route takes in downtown Taitung, passing Taitung City Office, along Nanjing Road, past Baoding Art and Cultural Center and through Waterfront Park, pilgrims praying to the gods to give good weather and keep the people safe.

  • Service Units Taitung County Government-Religion and Folk Customs Section +886-89-311090
Sailfish Festival

Sailfish Festival

Out of respect for the ocean, the Han Chinese and aborigines of Chenggong, a town that depends on fishing, hold a series of sailfish-themed activities at the height of the sailfish season in October and November.Temple manager Qiu Xia leads pilgrims around the sailfish god, while reciting the legend of the sailfish god,also blessing all the people who come to ask the god for protection, putting their minds at ease.

  • Location Wan Shan Ye Temple next to Xingang Fishing Harbour, Chenggong.
Chengguangao Matsu Temple

Chengguangao Matsu Temple

Chenguangao is the largest natural harbor on the east coast and the place where the first Han settlers in Taitung landed; the temple is the oldest Mazu temple in Taitung. The local fishing folk depend on the sea for their living so traditionally mainly worship the goddess Mazu. The temple was built in 1871 and rebuilt in 1949;when it was rebuilt local aborigines were asked to paint the bucket arches on the pillars, the first time aborigines had taken part in the decoration of a temple in Taiwan and showing the all-embracing nature of Taiwanese culture.

Other Tour

TOP

跳到主要內容區塊 定位點

台東觀光旅遊網

宗教慶典

定位點
宗教慶典

在地文化能量

台灣是一個宗教信仰多元化的地方,不僅尊崇傳統信仰,也能敞開胸懷接受外來的宗教思想。臺東傳統宗教方面,主要有佛教、道教和民間信仰,目前除了少數是純粹的佛教寺院外,大部份都參雜道教色彩。

元宵炸寒單嘉年華會

元宵炸寒單嘉年華會

配合傳統民俗活動的展現,以獨創性的藝文活動,突顯出臺東元宵活動的庶民精神與文化價值。一年一度的『元宵節祈福遶境遊行』具有傳統鄉土文化及歷史性,且由民間團體、廟宇 主動發起參與。途經臺東市區、臺東市公所、南京路、寶町藝文中心、海濱公園以祈求天下能夠風調雨順、國泰民安。

  • 聯繫單位 臺東縣政府 宗教禮俗科 089-311090
台東成功旗魚季

台東成功旗魚季

以海為生的成功鎮無論漢人或原住民族基於對大自然的尊重,每年10至11月盛產期有獨特的旗魚祭典系列活動。廟婆張邱霞親切的帶領著香客繞「旗魚神」一週,而嘴中所唸的則是「旗魚神」的傳奇,也是對所有前來祁求庇佑的人,一種平安及放心的祝福。

  • 位置 成功鎮新港漁港旁萬善爺廟
成廣澳天后宮

成廣澳天后宮

臺東歷史最久的媽祖廟,成廣澳是東部海岸最大的天然港,也是漢人進入東海岸最早登陸的港灣,以海為生的漁民以媽祖為最主要信仰,建造於清同治10年(1871年),1949年翻修時曾請當地原住民協助繪製樑上的斗拱圖案,是原住民參與廟宇建築的首例,代表著臺灣文化的互相包容。

文化類其他遊程

Top