Go to the main content section Anchor

Geology

Anchor
Liji Badlands

Masterpieces of the gods

Taitung is situated where the Philippine and Eurasian tectonic plates meet. As the two plates have pushed together over millions of year, the orogeny that resulted and cutting by rivers, erosion, sediment deposit and wave impact, and other natural processes, have created a diverse geological landscape between mountain and ocean.

  • Liji Badlands

    Liji Badlands

    The Beinan Mountain boulder bed on the banks of the Beinan River north of Liji Bridge is a plateau created by the uplifting of the tectonic plates after they squeezed together. On the east side of the plateau there is a fault scarp which is highly water permeable and, as such, is easily cut by water;after a long period of time this has created the lofty and steep peaks. The joined peaks are called “Huangshan in miniature” and also “Taitung's red cliff”;the Liji Badlands is one of the few world class geographical sights in Taiwan.

  • Little Huangshan(Puyuma Mountain)

    Little Huangshan(Puyuma Mountain)

    The Beinan Mountain boulder bed on the banks of the Beinan River north of Liji Bridge is a plateau created by the uplifting of the tectonic plates after they squeezed together. On the east side of the plateau there is a fault scarp which is highly water permeable and, as such, is easily cut by water; after a long period of time this has created the lofty and steep peaks. The joined peaks are called “Huangshan in miniature” and also “Taitung's red cliff”;the Liji Badlands is one of the few world class geographical sights in Taiwan.

  • Siaoyeliou

    Siaoyeliou

    Interactive sedimentation of thick layers of sandstone and thin mud rock layers took place.As a result of changes in geological structure, huge pieces of sandstone and shale were turned upside down, the upper part covering coral reef, and, after many years of sea-wave erosion, a strange geological sight was created. Visit the Visitor Centre's Geological Exhibition Hall and you will find out about the special local geological sights and the formation and evolution of the Coastal Mountain Range.

Other Tour

TOP

跳到主要內容區塊 定位點

台東縣觀光旅遊網

地質

定位點
利吉惡地

大自然鬼斧神工

位處於菲律賓板塊和大陸板塊交接處之前簷,經數百萬年來,兩大板塊相互的推擠,所形成的造山運動,在河川切割、侵蝕、沖積及海浪衝擊等天然作用,在山與海之間造就了變化多端的地質景觀。

  • 利吉惡地

    坐落在卑南溪旁的利吉惡地,又被稱為「月世界」,擁有層理混亂的泥岩地質,因菲律賓板塊與歐亞板塊撞擊後地殼隆起,夾雜著泥質填充物,加上滲水性與透氣性不足,雨水在地層表面形成蝕溝、蝕谷,造成寸草不生的荒寂,表土更呈現一片光禿、宛若刀背般的尖銳樣貌,讓人震撼不已,是少見的世界級地理景觀。

  • 小黃山(普悠瑪山)

    利吉大橋北側卑南溪畔的卑南山礪岩層,是經板塊擠壓後隆起而成的台地,台地東側有一斷層崖,因透水性極佳,易受溪水的切割,久而久之造就其山峰崢嶸的景致。雄偉的連峰似是黃山的迷你版而稱之,也被稱為「台東赤壁」是台灣少見的世界級地理景觀。

  • 小野柳

    厚層砂岩與薄層泥岩交互沉積,因地質構造變動,巨大砂頁岩塊呈上下倒置狀態,最上方又覆蓋珊瑚礁,再加上長年海浪侵蝕沖刷,呈現出奇特的地質現象。到旅客服務中心的地質展示館走一趟,還可以認識當地特殊的地質景觀,以及海岸山脈形成、演進過程。

自然類其他遊程

TOP